Lifematics Northern Nigeria Tour 1

One of our major goals this year was to reach the 6 Geo-political zones in Nigeria with the Maths is fun and easy gospel.

We had been to North Central, South West and South South, we had North East, South East and North West pending.

images (8)

Sometimes this year, we got a call from Aisha dudu as we call her (dark Aisha), she runs an organization with Aisha pupa (fair Aisha) in Kaduna requesting our presence in Kaduna.

Before then, Mr Rotimi Eyitayo attempted to take us to Kaduna but we couldn’t go (he knows why…Hahaha).

Several back and forth, eventually we decided to go.

Hajia Rakiya saw that we were coming to Kaduna and opted to come from Kano. She came earlier to FCT Abuja from Kano for our training and just fell in love with Lifematics way of doing Maths.

In her words, ‘èmi ni mo ma gbe yín wá Kano’ (I’ll bring you to Kano). I laughed as I doubted going to Kano.

One thing led to another, Hajia Rakiya spoke to Hajia Hadiza and they both decided to bring us to Kano (Yippee..two North Western States).
Hajia Hadiza gave us a free hall while they both worked to fill the hall. These two people got a good heart.

Time to travel…

We had a training in Abuja from there we wanted to go to Kaduna by air (scared of all the news we hear about road trips in the North).
Aisha dudu convinced us to come by train instead (Abuja to Kaduna is like Lagos to Ibadan) and offered to accompany us from Abuja to Kaduna. I laughed and asked if she had ability to protect us.
With her relentless persuasion, we opted for train.

However, one thing led to another and Aisha dudu had to leave Abuja before us. So, we were “alone with the Lord”.

Seated at the train station on a Sunday afternoon, a stranger (northerner) beside me bought snacks and offered me some. I was shocked, I mean you don’t know me and you wanted me to truly share your food (we’re not used to that). I smiled and declined politely.

 

The train was delayed which is a rare occurrence according to frequent commuters. Eventually, we got in and tried to listen to English speaking passengers (Hausa seem to be the lingua Franca in the North) and we soon discovered that the train killed some cows when coming from Kaduna to Abuja.

Train killed cows?

Are you kidding me?

At this point, my heart beat was faster.

To be continued…

 

The Lifematics Centre… making you love Maths


One thought on “Lifematics Northern Nigeria Tour 1

Leave a comment